Low fat vanilla muffins and potato salad

These guys were very much inspired by the peach muffins over at baking bites!I used the Low Fat Vanilla Cupcakes recipe from VCTOTW and added frozen papaya pieces and tangerines. Great summer/ hot day muffins. I think the next time I will use apples or fresh apricots.

In case you think that I live entirely on cake, here’s a recipe for a warm potato salad. (Because this year’s summer is often not so hot, but rainy and stormy.)

Warm potato salad (serves 2 as a side dish)

500g (around 1 lb) cooked and peeled potatoes, diced
1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
2 celery stalks, sliced
200g (2 cups) chopped spring onions
2 cloves garlic, diced
2 tsp. dried tarragon
1 tsp. paprika
salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a pan, add celery and spring onions and fry for five minutes (medium heat).
Add potatoes and garlic and fry the potatoes until crispy.
Turn off heat and add tarragon and paprika. Mix well and serve immediately.


7 Comments

Filed under muffins, recipes, salads

7 responses to “Low fat vanilla muffins and potato salad

  1. pavotrouge

    Muss VCTOTW kaufen T_T Meine Waage sagt, ich soll nicht. Was tun?

  2. KleoPatra

    Those muffins say SUMMERTIME to me. They are gorgeous. Papaya, ‘eh? Nice!

  3. Mihl

    pavotrouge – Deine Waage hat leider Recht, aber who cares! Das Buch ist toll und oft kann man weißes Mehl und weißen Zucker auch durch vollwertigere Alternativen ersetzen.

    kleopatra – thank you!

  4. Monika K

    Mihl – The cupcakes look terrific and light…my tummy is grumbling already!

    Also, I’m studying Deutsch als Fremdsprache und Anglistik here in Heidelberg. I’ll be graduating next spring and am already considering getting a Master’s degree. I’d love to move to Germany permanently and teach English…we’ll see how it all works out. (-:

  5. Mihl

    Monika – thank you! I also studied German Studies (but not DAF) and English and am working on my dissertation right now. I hope everything works out fine, good English teachers are always needed!

  6. Celine

    what??? you don’t live entirely on cakes??? I just lost all my illusions. what a sad, sad day.

  7. Mihl

    I don’t know what happened to my but my cake addiction came with my veganism!