The past days in food

I am still very busy and although I am not blogging and commenting that much anymore, I am still eating and cooking. Mostly cake, bread, and ice cream as it seems. But wait, I am still testing recipes for Terry Hope Romero, too. Here is what I cooked and baked the last two weeks.

Although I suck at conversations, my Norwegian skills are still good enough to translate recipes. My Norwegian teacher once told us that Norway is the most “americanized” European country. I have no idea if this is really true, but at least I have a Norwegian baking book which includes recipes for American baked goods. If someone would ask me what I associate with American baking, the first thing that comes to my mind is “brownies”.When I browsed my baking books for a brownie recipe I found a very promising looking one in the Norwegian book  “verdens beste dessert“. I admit that I’ve never made my own brownies before.But I’ve eaten good brownies before. They were dense, but not too dense, moist, very chocolatey, contained walnuts, and they were not vegan.

In my first attempt to recreate those brownies, I just veganized the recipe with no adaptions. The results were very, very, crumbly. The brownie tasted delicious and it was moist, for sure. But I wasn’t able to slice it properly and as soon as I grabbed a piece it fell apart. I let the cake rest for a day and the next day I was able to handle it better, but normally nobody wants to wait a day before she can eat her cake, right? So I tried again and made some adaptions to the recipe. I used less sugar, more flour, less apple sauce (one of my egg replacers), more baking powder, and some cocoa in addition to the chocolate. The result was not as fudgy but definitely very delicious, too. And it did hold together. Unfortunately I can’t find the adapted recipe at this point. In case I find it, I’ll let you know and will add it to this post.

If you are very sad about the missing brownie recipe, how about another ice cream recipe? I had some leftover coconut cream and some canned cherries. What would be a better idea than to make some vanilla cherry ice cream? This ice cream came out creamier than my last versions. I used more coconut cream and some cornstarch instead of the guar gum I usually use.

Vanilla Bean Cherry Ice Cream

210 g (1 c + 2 1/2 T) coconut cream
150 g (3/4 c) sugar
1/2 vanilla pod
360 ml (1 1/2 c) soy milk, divided
2 1/2 T cornstarch
100 g (1/2 cup) canned sour cherries, packed in light syrup.
3 T cherry juice from can

In a saucepan, combine coconut cream and sugar. Cook over medium heat until the sugar is dissolved. Carefully slice open the vanilla pod and scrape out the seeds. Add them to the coconut/sugar mixture together with 240 ml (1 cup) of soymilk. Bring to a boil and cook for 10 minutes.
Mix the remaining soy milk with cornstarch and cherry juice. Add to the saucepan and bring to a boil again, until the mixture has thickened. Let cool to room temperature and then refridgerate for 2-3 hours. Also refridgerate the cherries.
Freeze in an ice cream machine and transfer to a freezer-safe container. Carefully fold in cherries and transfer to your freezer. This ice cream is very sweet, so serve it with fresh or canned sour cherries.

If you are still not in sugar shock mode, I have to show you some pictures I took after I got my new waffle maker. The old one refused to make vegan waffles. It would only work when filled with omni waffle batter. My revenge was to throw it into the trash bin. There.

Our new waffle iron has some issues with vegan waffles, too. But as long as I choose the right temperature (medium!), don’t make the batter too thin, and grease the iron properly it is all fine. So far I have had luck with my favourite waffles (Hannah’s sourdough waffles) and a waffle recipe from “The Joy of Vegan Baking“:

Like every week, I also baked bread. I made “Wurzelbrot” (root bread), which is an adaption of the “Pain Paillasse“, a bread sold in franchises throughout Switzerland. I’ve ssen this bread in Germany both under the name “Wurzelbrot” and “Pain Paillasse”. It is a twisted baguette- or ciabatta-style bread:

I am still working on my recipe for the Portuguese caldo verde, a soup made with potatoes and couve galega, a special kind of kale, which is not available in Germany. Usually most of the flavour in this soup comes from chouriço. I made a version with regular kale and somoked tofu and one with kale, arugula, regular tofu, and liquid smoke. Both versions were tasty and the soup is easy to prepare:

Last weekend I tested some new recipes for Terry’s new book, Vegan Latina. Everything I’ve made so far was very tasty! I am lerning so much about Latin American cuisine. This time I made yellow rice, corn crusted empanadas, and shredded seitan. It was an awesome meal:

This sweet potato chipotle bisque was another test recipe, I made it a while ago. All of Terry’s soups are super-easy to prepare and they are so delicious! They don’t have many ingredients, are very nutritious and come out very flavourful:

Oh, and there will be desserts in Terry’s book, too. Like this tres leches cake. I am already out of words, this was the most amazing cake I’ve eaten in a while. It was P.’s birthday cake and he and his guests loved it, too:

32 Comments

Filed under ice cream, vegan

32 responses to “The past days in food

  1. Hang in there with the busyness and keep eating deeeeliciously! :-)

  2. happy to see you still partaking in delicious foods despite the busy-ness!
    waffle irons are evil…just like ovens.

  3. I haven’t yet forgiven my waffle iron for it’s previous attack on my waffles. Ugh.

    The food all looks delectable, especially the soups and the cake. Hope your work load lightens enough so you can blog again soon.

  4. I just had waffles at breakfast today, but now I’m craving them again!

  5. Your blog posts always inspire me to cook the things you’ve made. I think I may spend my afternoon off work baking brownies and then have waffles for brunch tomorrow!!

    I really need to try making my own bread soon too, it didn’t go so well the first time I tried and I kinda gave up, perhaps I’ll try to make some at the weekend.

    I’m excited for Terry’s new book, people keep blogging their tester photos and it all looks delicious.

  6. Glad to see all the catch-up food!!! The twisted bread is so pretty, and that shredded seitan is making my tummy grumble (I’m doing raw day today, so seeing cooked food makes me extra hungry).

    By the way, those Gummy Bears you sent me are THE BEST GUMMY BEARS I’VE EVER HAD!!!! They’re so flavorful!!! Thank you, thank you! I had to hide them from my boyfriend (he’s not vegan and I get mad when he gets into my special treats).

    • Glad you liked the gummi bears. They are also my favourite kind. I sometimes have to hide stuff from my omni bf, too.

  7. t

    Gaaah, vegan tres leches cake! That is my weakness in life! Can’t wait for Terry’s book!

    I’m so impressed that you bake your own bread every week.. I was suddenly whisked away to a calmer version of my own life where I might do such a thing… maybe in Brussels. :)

    Oh, and I’m going to have to try that cherry ice cream, as I have to many cherries at the moment to consume in the normal course of business.

  8. wow, what a fun post… so much variety! From brownies to kale soup, to Vegan Latina. I am always a fan of your bread pictures, since bread is my #1 all time most favorite food.

    yum!

  9. This post was too beautiful! Where do I even start? Those brownies look so fluffy and rich, great picture!
    The calo verde sounds very good, I love the bright color!
    And DROOL! The photo of the sweet potato chipotle bisque is amazing, great job!

  10. Vegan Tres Leche?! Oh my gosh, I think I just gasm’d a little.